Singledom

Top Things NOT To Do When You’re in a Funk

It’s the holiday season, which means I get depressed.  If you want to hear more about that, refer to a few posts back, when I spoke about my dating history.  Most holiday seasons lately I haven’t been in a funk, but sometimes the reality I am alone this time of year sneaks itself in, and hangs out through New Year’s.  And in the last five years I have learned what I should avoid to keep myself from sinking further into this depression.

  1. Don’t watch anything sappy.  What I’ve learned is that this doesn’t help.  All it does it make you want to have someone even more.  Movies I have to avoid (as much as I love them): The Holiday, Wuthering Heights, Sixteen Candles, Penelope, Remember Me, the entire Twilight Saga (if you’re into that), Across the Universe, Les Chansons d’amour, 10 Things I Hate About You, Bridget Jones, and anything that Nicholas Sparks wrote that became a movie.
  2. Try not to think about it.  Easier said than done, especially when I am the one giving the advice.
  3. Keep yourself busy, so that you don’t have the time to think about how lonely you are.
  4. Try and remember why it’s awesome to be single.  We have the remote to ourselves, and we don’t have to answer to anyone should we feel like lounging in our PJs all day watching TV.
I am not saying that any of this will work.  I spent my holiday seasons post-“relationship”, working in retail, which I assure you doesn’t help.  Just remember, these funks happen, and as quickly as they come, they are gone.
One thought on “Top Things NOT To Do When You’re in a Funk

Leave a Reply

