Uncategorized

Songs By The Beatles That I Love

Why I feel inspired to post something like this, I have no idea.  Here goes nothing.

  • Michelle.  My dad listened to Oldies stations (besides KYXY 96.5 in San Diego) in the car when I was growing up, and at that time, I didn’t know who The Beatles were, but I always loved this song.  Mainly because my middle name is Michele, and when I was 6-8 years old, I thought this song was written for me.  It wasn’t until I became an adult, and found out the real story, that the veil kind of dropped.  Despite the reality, I still like to pretend that this song is about me.
  • Eleanor Rigby.  In sophomore year of high school, my English teacher was doing some lesson on something, and he brought in his Beatles album and played a few songs for us.  Eleanor Rigby happened to be one of them.  To me, it’s a sad song about some poor woman’s life of blending in and living vicariously through total strangers.  And at the time, I was going through this depressive point, so the song spoke volumes to me.
  • She Loves You.  Who doesn’t love this song?  It’s peppy, and I stop what I am doing to sing along, even if it’s in my head.
  • Ticket to Ride.  This is the first Beatles song I remember knowing it was The Beatles.  I was watching VH1, and they were playing all these Beatles songs, and I just loved this one and its video.
  • Lucy In the Sky With Diamonds.  I have heard the album version, as well as the version from their L.O.V.E. album.  I much prefer the latter version, but I love that this song was written for John’s son, Julian.
  • Something. This is just a beautiful song, about love.
  • Revolution #9.  Having seen Across the Universe, and not knowing very many Beatles songs besides the mainstream songs that I heard occasionally on the radio (I was living in rural New Hampshire when I finally discovered The Beatles, and there were three radio stations with tolerable music on them), this movie was a revelation. It exposed me to more songs, and Revolution  was one of them.  You can feel the anti-Vietnam tones in it, and the emotion of the movie itself delivers the Beatles version strongly.
  • A Day In the Life.  Another song I found through Across the Universe.  Hearing the song with words was a much more vivid picture than the very haunting instrumental version from the movie.  It’s sad, and just a wonderfully written song.
  • I Am the Walrus. I was inspired to listen to The Beatles version after seeing the trailer for Across the Universe and seeing Bono sing it in the trailer.  I love the quirky 60s vibe of it.

There are many more, but I can’t think of any more.

Leave a Reply

