Poetry

Titanic Poem

In a bit of a change from the poems I have posted of late, I thought I would share one I wrote this morning about the centennial of the Titanic’s tragic sinking.  Please bear in mind this poem may make no sense, since I kept having lulls in what I wanted to say.

Titanic

Today you sunk six miles beneath the Atlantic.

Your opulent fixtures forever marred.
The once-majestic ocean liner
Is no more.

One-hundred years later,
You lie beneath the sea;
Rusted, and covered in aquatic life.
Your opulent staterooms stand as tombs,
Telling stories of tragedy.

Into the depths of a frigid April night
You were lost forever.

You are not forgotten.
Nor are the many people
You carried across the vast ocean.

Leave a Reply

