Poetry

Somewhere by Linda Harnett

First of all let me apologize for not posting a poem yesterday.  I got caught up in the beautifully warm weather the San Francisco Bay Area has been experiencing, and I just did not want to go online. In the spirit of the last warm day we’ll be experiencing for a few days/weeks, here is a poem about the beach, one of my favorite places in the world.

Oh, to be lying,
On a beach,
Somewhere,
With sand in my toes,
And the wind,
In my hair.

And only the sound,
Of the seagulls,
On high,
On a beach,
Somewhere,
Under sunny blue sky.

The gentle caress,
Of the waves,
On the shore,
And you close,
Beside me,
Could I ask for more?

A soft sandy beach,
That goes on,
Forever,
You, me,
And a beach,
So happy together.

Leave a Reply

