Adolescence · Family · Life as I Know It · Singledom

I Just Became Jealous of My Cousin

My cousin, who is 11 months younger than I am has been married for almost ten years in August. She has four kids. She got started young, when she was sixteen. I just saw a photo of her and her husband at her high school graduation, and I seriously got jealous.

I have never once been jealous of her, contrary to what certain members of my family have said. I’ve never once been jealous that she got married, and had kids. I’ve never been jealous of her life. And now, I am. It’s not her and her husband that makes me jealous, per se. It’s my cousin’s figure and the fact she’s married. So…yeah, I am jealous she’s married.

This jealousy will pass, as long as I don’t go onto her Facebook profile for a few days.

And I really shouldn’t be jealous of her figure. I am thin myself, except I need to tone my tummy and work on my arms. I got the family hips, so I am an hourglass figure. My cousin, she’s a stick. I personally think she needs to eat a cookie. But she’s healthy, so score one for her.

For illustrative purposes, here are two photos of me last year, taken by my youngest sister and my dad. My dad took this photo of me staring at the Golden Gate Bridge last August, and my sister took this photo of me on my birthday. I can’t remember why I wanted a full-body shot, but I am grateful she took it. By the way, I was not angry.

I think I just hit the end of my rope with not having a guy in my life. Don’t get me wrong, I like being single, but it’s nice to have a reason to go out or get dressed up and do my hair.

Leave a Reply

