Books

Books

It’s a horrible title, but it’s all I could come up with.

I was going through the ‘Freshly Pressed’ sites on here, and saw one pertaining to the rise of E-books. I own an E-book, namely a Kindle. I can’t even tell you which one I own, except that I got it for Christmas in 2010.

At first, when my parents questioned me on whether or not I would like to own a Kindle, my answer was: Hell no. But, I looked at it, and read up on them and I changed my mind. And the first book I think I bought for my Kindle was Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women. It took me far too long to get through it, because the book was incredibly boring. I love the movies, but the book was much different (as they often are).

And then, I proceeded to get caught up in the Vampire Academy series. And those books I bought in their physical form, except for Frostbite.

I have about 21 books on my Kindle (I am currently reading Persuasion by Jane Austen), but I still frequent Barnes and Noble when I get the chance, because I love having a physical book in my hands. Take the Tana French Dublin Crime Novels for example; I had to have them in their physical forms, not through my Kindle. I don’t know why, I just wanted the physical copies. I even have copies of my favorite novels on my Kindle, in case I am on vacation someplace and I feel the urge to reread Jane Eyre or Wuthering Heights.

I haven’t quite figured out why bookstores like Barnes and Noble have released E-books, considering they’d be one of the casualties of E-books. Sure, they could remain open, but only offering E-books, but what fun is that?

I usually reserve my Kindle for romance novels, which I don’t like advertising I read. But for the most part it’s filled with paranormal mysteries, classic novels by renowned authors, and games.

*Photo is from Christmas 2010, when I received my Kindle.
One thought on “Books

Leave a Reply

