Books · College · Life as I Know It

Analyzing the Meaning Behind The Wizard of Oz

Since I am currently taking my midterm for Psychology, I thought I would show you an example from one of my English Composition books about The Wizard of Oz. As I read it, I thought of a previous post in which I explain why I deeply adore the Wicked Witch of the West.

Agent: Powerful women in both Kansas and Oz are shown as “wicked” and abusive. In contrast, Auntie Em and Glenda are considered “good” because of their feminine and homespun qualities. Glenda knows magic but uses it only in small ways and primarily acts as a nurturing figure. (Fallows, 2011).

While the characters in the film The Wizard of Oz do not wear buttons stamped with the phrase “Question Authority,” the film as a whole strongly suggests that we do so. Though the characters Dorothy encounters look to the wizard to grant them a brain, a heart, and courage, they already show plenty of intelligence, feeling, and bravery. It’s only after Toto inadvertently exposes the real wizard’s “smoke and mirror” contraption that they see the phony behind the curtain and realize that they don’t need his validation to prove their self-worth. Likewise Dorothy learns to stand up to questionable authorities, and though she chooses to remain in the home, she has helped inspire countless others to say “no” to the rigid roles that restrict them. (Fallows, 2011).

So these excerpts from my book show that loving the Witch isn’t a bad thing, but a way of asserting that I am a modern woman, whose place is not just in the kitchen, tending to the children and the farm, but as a human being with just as much equal rights as a man.

Excerpts are taken from: 

Randall Fallows, Exploring Perspectives: A Concise Guide to Analysis v. 1.0, 2011

Leave a Reply

