College · Life as I Know It · My Writing · Poetry

Am I in Trouble?

As per one of my Creative Writing books, here comes today’s post. I write most of these at night, during my “down time” from classes. It is the way I keep the creative flow going, and don’t end up in a writing rut. And then I queue them up, and you read them in the morning or whenever it is you read them.

Today’s post involves my IT class. It bores me to death. I try and imagine the next six weeks, and I am unsure if I will make it out with my brain intact. Today alone I spent more time on my phone playing Bingo Bash while a 56-minute Powerpoint presentation played in the background. I then had to make a discussion board post about my ideal computer, using what I had learned from the chapters I read. The only problem is, as much as I should care about RAM and megabytes, I just don’t care. I choose a computer with good customer reviews, an up-to-date operating system, and an affordable price. Other people’s responses were along the lines of all this mega space for videos and games, and here I am, stating I really don’t give a rat’s ass. I am taking IT because I have to, not because I want to learn about computers and how they tick.

My Creative Writing course is much the same. I hate modern poets. Although the two poems I had to read for the DB this week were exceptional. We’re supposed to post to the blog, and so far, I am the only one who has. We spoke about our favorite forms of poetry, and I chose odes and sonnets. So, I got to blather on about Shakespeare and Keats. I was happy to do so, citing favorite works of mine, and no one has commented. At least my poem about winter went nicely. I got a 73 out of 75, which in actual grade format is a 97%. So in all, I was happy. Now I am tooling around with the idea of what to write for my “memoir” for next week’s assignment. I think I am going to end up discussing my first date. I’ll probably even use Bradley’s real name. And if I don’t write about the date itself, I will write about the first kiss and the story about it all (which you’ve heard before).

Anyway, to address the title, am I in trouble with IT class? I just couldn’t step up to the plate this week and give a royal crap about my ideal computer. Mainly, because I don’t have one. I can just imagine the comments to my board. Especially if my Instructor comments on it.

Leave a Reply

