Books

Top 5 Favorite Characters–Books/Movies

  1. The Scarecrow from The Wizard of Oz. When I was a wee little thing, I loved Scarecrow. To the point, I used to pretend we’d get married and live on the Yellow Brick Road. Thankfully, that love has died down quite a bit, and I now feel bad for him.
  2. Flynn Rider, Tangled. What can I say about Flynn? He is incredibly attractive, for one thing. He is just the type of guy I could imagine getting entangled with (ha, a pun!) and not resenting every darn second of it.
  3. Dimitri Belikov, the Vampire Academy series. From the first moment Dimka showed up in the first book, I knew I was done for. I have a serious weakness for Russians. Blame Sergei Grinkov (RIP) and his cute Russian looks back in 1994 at the Lillehammer Games of the Winter Olympics. There’s just something about a tall brooding Russian vampire hunter that appeals to me.
  4. Adrian Ivashkov, same book series and Bloodlines. Adrian is a suave soul. He drinks to combat his special powers, smokes like a chimney, and paints pretty pictures. Besides all that, when he decides he’s going to give you his heart, he gives it all to you. It’s gotten him hurt badly in the past, but based on what I’ve been seeing for the newest book, which comes out in two weeks, he’s given it away again.
  5. Edward Fairfax Rochester, Jane Eyre. To most modern female readers, Rochester is the biggest a**hole. He hides his first wife in an attic for all intents and purposes, keeping her out of an asylum, but also making her live in deplorable conditions. He flirts incessantly with Jane, then plays with her emotions by introducing another female with far more talent and beauty than Jane possesses. And on the day of their wedding, he drags her around, knowing that the wife upstairs has living relatives that will admit impediment during the ceremony. Yet despite this, I think he is amazing. Call me biased by Ciarán Hinds, Toby Stephens. and Michael Fassbender’s portrayls, I do not care. He is a great character.
Leave a Reply

