My Writing · Poetry

Lost

A photo sits atop my desk.
It is of another time.
A time of newness, naked nerves
And overwhelming excitement.

He says he looks like a horse.
What I see is a handsome man
Enjoying the presence of another.
He made me smile so much that night;
I don’t think he realizes just how much.

Now the world is a mess.

I can’t see straight,
Let alone think straight.
He is in there, possibly dead.
I don’t know what I’ll do if he is.

He is my world,
My light,
My heart.

I wish I could tell him how much I love him.
How much the last three years have meant to me,
And how lost I will be without him.

Written 4.4.13 in the voice of Aidan, a character I wrote.

3 thoughts on “Lost

  1. i like the delicate shifts in tone in your moving and insightful poem, really elegant. tony

Leave a Reply

