Life as I Know It · My Writing

Sneak Peek Into New Story

I finally got the burst of energy I needed, and after much household drama (believe me, it is DRAMA), I have typed out three pages.

Here is the plot (at least what I have in my head):

Chris and Katie meet at a party, and the sparks fly almost immediately for the two of them. 

It ties into the short thing I wrote last night, which is linked for your ease here.

Our characters are: Katie (no last name yet), who is 29; Chris, who is 31; Genevieve, a friend of Katie’s; and David, who is Chris’ former college roommate as well as Katie’s ex-boyfriend (who is married).

And here is the first three pages of the story:

I met Chris at a birthday party for one of our mutual friends. I secretly think to this day that our friends had planned this days before, because my best friend Genevieve pointed him out to me three times within the first two minutes he had arrived. I was so annoyed with her that I ended up walking away for a few minutes, so that I wouldn’t cause a scene on a friend’s birthday.

It was in this brief moment alone that I finally got a good look at Chris without drawing attention that I was looking at him in front of our friends. He was standing in between the kitchen and living room, nursing a cup of orange soda and swaying around to ‘Houdini’ by Foster the People while in conversation with the birthday boy. I remember thinking he was tall and skinny, though he had some muscle on his thin frame. He also had black hair, which contrasted with his pale skin and blue eyes, making him strangely attractive. The moment I knew I might want to be introduced to him (not that I really had a choice) was when he smiled. His entire face lit up, and I found myself smiling because of how warm his smile was.

Chris and I were never actually introduced; we casually met in the backyard while taking a breather from the overwhelming amount of people inside. I was sitting by the pool, my toes sitting just above the water. I was taking in the sunlight, my eyes closed when he approached.

“Enjoying the sunshine?”

My eyes snapped open, and there was this tall dark blob smiling down at me. He smelled of a mix of cologne and shampoo, and just radiated joy like a ball of sunshine.

“May I join you?”

“Oh, yes, of course!” I moved my sweater, putting it in my lap as he took a seat beside me.

“How is the water? Is it unseasonably cold for the end of June, or just right?”

“It’s actually really nice. It’s that kind that’s cold at first, but it warms up really fast.”

Bon!” He immediately stretches out his legs, dangling them over the edge of the pool, and immersing his feet. He cried out from the cold, then wiggling his toes once they got used to the temperature.

“Vous parlez français?”

“I do, yes,” he smiled. “My mom had made me take it in school, and once I hit high school, I was in love with it. I was labeled a nerd for the longest time because of my admiration for the language and all things French,” he chuckled.

“I am sure that changed once you went to college,” I replied.

“Yes, it did,” he laughed. “Suddenly women who wouldn’t have given me the time of day in high school thought I was the sexiest man alive. What’s your story with French?”

“Watching some movie when I was younger with French occasionally interspersed through it, and I thought it was beautiful. I took it and failed throughout school, finally realizing I truly loved every nook and cranny of the language, and I have been learning it over the last few months.”

“I’m Chris, by the way. Normally, that’s the first thing I say to someone, but I got distracted.”

“Kicking your feet in the pool?”

“I think it’s a toss-up between the pool and how beautiful you are.” This made me blush, which made him laugh. “It’s not every day you run into a woman who knows French, let alone finding one sitting poolside with her toes dangling above the water.”

“I’m Katie,” I smile, taking his hand as he holds it out to me. “How do you know David, the birthday boy?”

“He was my roommate all four years in college. How do you know the fair David?”

“Same, yeah,” I laughed. “No, he was my boyfriend for about two months six years ago. When I first met him, he was just coming into his business. He didn’t have a lot of time to devote to the relationship, so we ended things amicably. Now he’s married to Emily, and that’s the story.”

For a while we just sat by the pool, kicking our feet in the water. Chris would delight me with some bit of trivia about David, and I would look at him in total shock, not sure if he was messing with me.

“What would you say your mood is right now, Katie?”

“I am in an excellent mood,” I smile, looking over at him.

“So if I did this, you wouldn’t get upset?”

He lightly splashes my leg, a sly smile across his face.

“Of course not,” I reply. “But you should know that this action requires retaliation,” I smile as I splash him back.

“Of course, of course,” he grins. He reaches down into the pool with his hand, and lets the water drop from his fingers onto my arm. I retaliate by doing the same. He then wets his hand again, wiping water all over my arm and leg. I accidentally splash his face, and he reaches into the pool and tries to wet the side of my face. I begin to scream, and bolt up from the side of the pool to get away from him.

“Come back, I want to give you this gift!” He cries behind me, reaching his hand out for me. I continue running, laughing as he chases me around the backyard. It was only when I tripped over a sprinkler head that he caught me…literally.

I ended up in his arms, staring right into those deep blue eyes. We both were breathing heavily, and that became even more laborious once this whole incident happened.

“Are you all right?”

“I’m fine,” I returned. “I tripped over a sprinkler head, and almost went headfirst into the ground. Thank you for preventing that.” I looked over to see that basically everyone who was at the party was now gathered outside, looking on at this spectacle unfolding before them. “I think you should let me up before people think you’re trying to kiss me,” I whispered, trying to lighten the tension.

“What do you think would happen if I did?” He grinned, the brightness having returned to his eyes.

“I can assure you that my friend Gen would love that very much. I think she’s trying to get us together. As for everyone else, I don’t think it would really make them crazy. We’ve already acted like a bunch of teenagers. I think that would just cap everything.”

Chris nods his head, his lips pursing together as he ponders his plan of action. All I am thinking is: please don’t kiss me in front of all these people. At least not the initial kiss, any other time is fine. He pulls me up, dusting off my dress and squaring my shoulders, looking me over to be sure I am as fine as I proclaim to be.

“You’ll live,” he utters loudly, his eyes going over the crowd outside. “Just be more careful about what you might encounter out here.”

“Thank you, I will,” I smile, saluting him before walking off.

I spent the rest of the party avoiding Chris and Gen. David came along and made a few jokes, but in the end he offered me some insight into Chris.

“If you’re looking for a good guy, who has little to no baggage, Chris is your guy. While he is far from a saint, he’s nothing like I was.” I opened my mouth to protest, but he put his finger over it and just looked me in the eyes. “Katie; only blind people didn’t notice all the attention you two were paying to each other by the pool. For god’s sake, you were out there almost two hours before the water chase commenced.”

David looked at me and lightly smiled. “I think you and Chris would make a beautiful couple. Ultimately, the decision is up to the two of you, but just keeps what I’ve said in mind, okay?”

Just then, Emily pops her head in, telling us it’s time for cake. I stay behind a moment, coming out just as Emily lights the final candle. We all sing ‘Happy Birthday,’ and laugh when David can’t blow out all of his candles. I slip out shortly after, having had my fill of fun. As I am walking out the door, I am intercepted by Chris.

“Leaving so soon?”

“Yeah, I thought I’d get out before I embarrass myself further,” I said with light smile.

“It was nice meeting you,” he replied with a smile. I replied that it was nice meeting him as well. He stepped out of the way, and I opened the door. “Katie?”

I turned to look at him.

“This might seem like a bad idea, but can I have your phone number? I promise no funny business, I just want to text you to the point of annoyance.”

I smile widely, and gesture for him to hand me his phone. Once I have put my phone number in, I hand him back his phone.

“I look forward to those texts,” I reply as I walk out the door.

Leave a Reply

