College · Family · Life as I Know It

A Slight Update

This past week has been interesting, to say the least. And for a little while it was touch and go as to whether I would be living with my baby sister. Apartment living has been a new experience for both of us, although I was born and raised in apartments until I was almost seven years old. But after 23 years of living in houses, you forget the eccentricities of living with hundreds of other people around you. My neighbor downstairs (who is moving) does her laundry from 9 pm to 4:30 am. Sometimes, she accompanies this with loud bass music. And as luck would have it, her living/bedroom is right below my bedroom. But I bought some awesome earplugs, so it’s not been a problem.

My baby sister and I are easing into the life bit by bit, and I am finding the hardest part is the cats. I am responsible for everything they do, and the cleaning of the litter and making sure they get food and water every day is taxing. And for the first few days, I was sure they would spend every night running around like loons and annoying the neighbors. But they tend to slow down when my sister and I retreat to our bedrooms at night, and are quiet for the most part.

School is going alright, although I bombed my midterm in Anthropology. I’d like to say I am sad about this, but I have been preoccupied with other things that afford me the luxury of not giving a shit. I pulled another Humanities analysis paper out of thin air, while sitting on hard carpet and without much furniture. We now have a chair, and things are coming together (photos are coming, as soon as I have finished unpacking and got my room arranged) so that it feels homey for the two of us. The cats love the fact we have the big chair from the house in the apartment, and take turns sleeping on it.

My life so far has gone like this:

  • I wake up in the morning, do my daily phone things (French lesson, Bingo, and checking my emails and Twitter).
  • I talk/text with my mom (who lives two minutes down the street from me)
  • Feed the cats/clean the litterbox
  • Go out to Safeway to either return/pick-up movies from Redbox (which I will be doing again tomorrow).
  • Walk around the unit (which I haven’t done since Thursday or Friday, but will tomorrow with my mama)
  • Neglect my computer
  • Avoid packing
  • cook dinner
  • sleep

I have four more boxes left to unpack, most of which is either linens or small knick-knack things that are spread out through the room. My bookcase is in the living room, along with my DVDs, which the cats think is a jungle gym. Other than that, I haven’t been doing much. I am burnt out from school, and I still have twelve more weeks left before I get a small summer vacation. I also have to start looking for a job.

I promise a more in-depth story behind the drama of the first few days of moving up here, but my brain is in a million different places at the moment.

But I will tell you this: Star Trek: Into Darkness is freaking fantastic. And for someone with a strong aversion to all things breaking bones, that is saying something.

Here are some photos

The mess that is my dresser at the moment.
The mess that is my dresser at the moment.
Boxes
Boxes

Leave a Reply

