College · Family · Life as I Know It · Singledom

I’ve Moved Things Around Temporarily

It’s not a big change, I just moved the widget for my birthday, so it was front and center. Since I was so caught up in the drama of my life yesterday, and I had already made two posts yesterday, I didn’t mention that my birthday is exactly one month away. I have referenced this before, but my twenties are about to end. Under normal circumstances, what I am about to do would have been reserved for next month, but heaven knows what my Term 6 classes (which begin tomorrow, and I need all your positive thoughts) on top of my job are going to do to my head. So I might as well commemorate what went on in my twenties before I find I no longer have the time.

  • When I turned 20, I was very much questioning everything the government did. 9/11 had happened almost two years earlier, and we were beginning the Afghanistan/Iraq wars (the names of which I have conveniently forgotten).
  • My 21st birthday was rung in alone, with my cat. My family was having a horrible vacation to Niagara Falls, and I was watching Bridget Jones’s Diary and having Mark Darcy sing ‘Happy Birthday‘ to me. This was the night I figured out that I am allergic to Bartles and Jaymes’ Fuzzy Navel wine coolers.
  • As I have covered a million times it seems, the year I turned 22 was amazing. I went to the beach for the first time in five years, had a vacation where I wasn’t bored for one single second (that actually goes for my whole family), I got my job with TJ Maxx, and I met and went out with Scott.
  • I tried moving back to San Diego when I was 23, and finally had the epiphany that I truly loved the East Coast. I met Christian Guy, and realized that torturing Scott was the catharsis I needed.
  • I went to Cape Cod again when I was 24, and not much else happened.
  • When I turned 25, I was in the middle of Twilight obsessiveness, contemplating going back to TJ Maxx after quitting, praying my dad wouldn’t get the job in Florida, and spending my milestone birthday with a friend who’d had dental work done and couldn’t fully enjoy herself. I also moved out of New England, thus throwing me into a several month-long depression. What came out of this was a story inspired by a storm, and Scott’s enthusiasm over it.
  • Nothing happened in 2009.
  • My 27th birthday was marred by my sister “visiting” from New Hampshire, and having a huge fight with her husband as we sat down for dinner. The upside, was my sister taking me to the beach. I also went to San Diego for vacation.
  • The year I turned 28, we moved to California. I also began this blog, which now has lots of followers.
  • Last year, I tried online dating again and realized that ship had sailed. I started college, and endured my sister moving home…again.
  • This year begins a new chapter. I technically live on my own, I have a job, and I am turning 30. I have many followers on here who are willing to listen to me prattle on about my fears over it.

My wish for this year is this: to receive more followers, to start another story or at least write a poem during my two-week summer vacation in August, to have much luck with my job, do well in college, possibly get a boyfriend (?), and that my sister decides San Diego is too amazing to move from. I think that last one is far too lofty, since she relinquished her lease yesterday and is applying for jobs here.

Two more things I wish to talk about:

  1. I want to thank the newest followers I have received since yesterday. Take a look around the site and send a comment if you wish.
  2. I forgot to tell you all the story of my getting hit on at Starbucks two weeks ago. Since this post is long enough, find it in the following post.
6 thoughts on “I’ve Moved Things Around Temporarily

  1. You should totally write a book on your life. It already sounds super intersting already! I know I’d buy it, not too sure about everyone else lol

    1. I’m curious as to what I should write about concerning my life. What should I focus on, I wonder?

      1. Idk maybe the change in perspective of life as you grew older? That would be pretty cool. My life is too boring to write about lol

Leave a Reply

