Random · The Arts

Looks and Their Effect

This could go under the “Random” tag, but I have a question.

Why do I find this photo below slightly attractive (click photo for full-size)

creepy_loki

While I find everything about Kane from Poltergeist II incredibly creepy (the link goes to YouTube, with clips from the movie, so click cautiously)?

I suppose it’s because I know Loki’s backstory, and that after he fell from the Bifrost, he got mixed up in some freaky stuff. Kane was an evil son-of-a-bitch, who preyed on a little girl because of her life-force. To this day, I cannot even look at a photo of the former Governor of New Hampshire, John Lynch, because he reminds me of Kane. I also know that the actor who played Kane was dying of cancer, so they didn’t have to do much with the make-up to make him look creepy.

I am not a make-up expert, but I don’t think Tom Hiddleston is wearing much. He’s got stuff on his teeth to make them look decayed, and some oozy-looking stuff on the side of his head, but other than that, it’s all on how Tom plays the part. And for anyone who has seen his less than twenty seconds post-credits scene from Thor, knows he sold it.

Why do you think I have no trouble seeing Tom Hiddleston looking creepy as hell, and yet I have trouble seeing a dying man play an evil Evangelist from the 19th century?

Leave a Reply

