My Writing

The Drawing Room

I wrote this last night, after looking at photos of Tom Hiddleston dressed in period style for a film he is currently filming in Toronto. Unlike previous small writings like this, I don’t think I will broaden this story further–although, don’t quote me on that. Try to imagine the drawing room looking like this.

In a warmly lit drawing room, sits a man and woman. She is comfortably seated upon an armchair, a smile painted across her pale face as she looks lovingly at her fiancé as he reads to her. He is on one knee, softly reading Keats to her, his eyes occasionally looking up at her as he reads the various poems he knows she enjoys. The fire crackles behind him, adding atmosphere as he reads. Occasionally he will catch a subtle smile, which then causes him to smile in response.
He rises up from his kneeling position, walking to the fireplace in front of him, and leaning against the mantelpiece.
“Are you trying to appear regal?”

“Quite the contrary; I am trying to look intimidating,” he said with a sly smile.

“Why on earth would you want to look intimidating? Was reading Keats beneath you? Because as I recall, you are rather taken by Keats’s writing.”

“I very much like Keats. I just do not think you take me very seriously. I believe you see me as this handsome gentleman who reads Keats to you at your leisure. I believe you are marrying me because you enjoy how I recite his poems.”

“Darling Edmund, I am marrying you for more than just how you read Keats, or any poet for that matter. I am marrying you because you are a kind and loving gentleman, because you are intelligent, and aren’t threatened by the fact that I am educated.”

“Do you think me handsome, Elizabeth?” He looks back at her, trying to appear serious.

“I think you are quite handsome,” she said with a smile, rising from the armchair and walking to him. “I think you are far more handsome than any other man I have known. You are also very charming,” she said as she kissed his cheek.
He takes her hands in his, kissing her knuckles earnestly. They are engaged, but he is trying to keep to the conduct codes of the late-19th century of not kissing upon the mouth until after marriage.

Leave a Reply

