Life as I Know It · My Writing · Random · The Arts

I Watched ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’

And now I am questioning my own sanity. I somehow managed to force myself to sit through every sex scene, Christian treating Anastasia like complete crap, and every cheesy line for a little over two hours. My youngest sister, who has read the three books twice sat through it with me, but was pretty much done ten minutes in.

I had to keep sucking on hard candy, because I was becoming physically sick by what I was seeing. Now to offer you comparisons of the types of movies/TV shows I have watched so that you don’t think I am some lightweight:

  • Outlander, which contains scenes of brutal violence towards the male protagonist, Jamie Fraser.
  • Game of Thrones-enough said.
  • 12 Years a Slave, which contains scenes of brutal violence inflicted on slaves
  • Shame. I feel I have to include this so that I don’t look like I can’t handle extreme sexual situations.

But for some reason, I could not handle what was happening on-screen. Maybe it was Christian’s obsessive need to control Anastasia, I don’t know. But what I do know is that I felt I needed a mild sedative after watching it. There really wasn’t anything remotely sexy about it, even in situations of BDSM.

In closing, I would also like to say that NO guy is obligated to do anything in that movie, because a whole bunch of women found the books and Christian Grey remotely attractive.

Leave a Reply

