Family · Life as I Know It · Photos

Happy Friday the 13th and Catch-Up

Happy Friday the 13th! I am finally sitting down at my laptop to write up about Christmas, and the last couple of weeks.

Christmas went surprisingly well, despite the fact that my youngest sister received a couple of gifts that had caused some drama in the months leading up to the day itself. I got a record player, a vinyl of Thriller (which my dad had when I was a kid, and was an album I enjoyed a lot–but was not the original record, which had been thrown away years ago), and a bunch of other things. The one gift I wanted, the very popular Nintendo Classic Mini–was not one of them (by the way, should Nintendo come across this post, I want to say that it was dirty pool that you had given Target and other retailers six  consoles to sell to the public, and then not selling them again for the rest of the season. Now that Christmas is over, people are still selling these at ridiculous prices, and yet there is no indication you intend to release any more).

One of my big gifts, was a diploma/tassel frame. Apparently, my sister had a reaction to this that I had missed because I was so excited to open it.

Other than that, not much has happened. New Year’s Eve was a nightmare, as it has been since moving into an apartment, but this recent one was worse. I didn’t get to fall asleep until after 1 AM, and didn’t sleep well for the next two days following. 2016 basically was the year I became fed-up with apartment living more than before.

Also, Northern California has had a lot of rain in the last two weeks. On Sunday, my sister and I are sitting in the living room eating dinner when I heard what sounded like thunder. I turned to look out the window to watch for lightning, only to watch a tree across the lot falling over. It did some damage to the apartment building just feet from where the tree stood, but nothing that could prevent those living in the building from staying in their apartments.

That’s about it. I have a couple of photos, because I take photos of random stuff.

img_0025
One of my Christmas gifts, a jewelry bowl, which sits in my bathroom.
img_0051
The fallen tree
Leave a Reply

