Books · Life as I Know It

2016/2017 Book Recommendations

I admittedly did a lot of reading last year, having read fifty-five books. Some of them were school books, but it was an admirable number. In doing so, I have come across some pretty great books.

  1. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. I read this because of an article about the miniseries coming to Hulu in April, as well as the general idea behind the novel itself. In short, biological issues have resulted in lower birthrates and high amounts of infertility. A religious uprising occurred, and fertile women are now basically vessels to carry babies for the richer classes. Given the political environment regarding Women’s Reproductive Rights, this book is scary as hell.
  2. The Queen’s Poisoner (Kingfountain Series book 1) by Jeff Wheeler. I basically like this whole series. I’ve read three books, and am currently debating whether to buy the fourth (there will be six books in all, published by the end of the year). I can’t really describe them without going overboard, so I suggest you check them out on Amazon.
  3. Little Girls by Ronald Malfi. This book is creepy and disturbing. It’s about a woman who returns to her father’s home after his death, and begins to experience otherworldly phenomena. I highly recommend it, although there will be points where you just want things to happen.
  4. The David Wolf series by Jeff Carson. I think I like these books because they take place in a small town in the mountains, and I am currently obsessed with Homicide Hunter on ID Discovery. The two books (or three–I’ve lost count) I have read are interesting stories.
  5. The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware. An interesting thriller, dealing with a woman swears she heard a woman pushed over the side of a cruise above her room. Some reviews are low, but I liked the story.
  6. The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin. This book was heart-wrenching and beautiful, and I cannot do a synopsis justice for it.
  7. It by Stephen King. For me, reading this book was an accomplishment. Not because it was terrible (and I usually will drop a book if that is the case), but because it was 1,405 pages. I’ve read that many pages, but usually through an entire book series. It took ten days (three of which I didn’t read on), but I finished the book. In case you don’t know about the novel, it is the story of seven adults who are joined together due to supernatural events taking place in their small Maine town in the 1950s back when they were kids. Having seen the miniseries as a kid (and I was seven when that premiered on TV in 1990), the book is wholly different.
  8. All the Light We Cannot See  by Anthony Doerr. It seems fitting on Holocaust Remembrance Day to talk about this book, which I finished early this morning. It details the parallel stories of Marie-Laure, a young blind girl living in Paris just days before the Nazi Occupation of France; and a German boy named Werner, who joins the Hitler Youth because he is exceptional in his knowledge of radios. Marie escapes with her father to her great-uncle’s home in Saint-Malo, on the Breton coast. I cried at one part, because I am a human being, and believe others (even those who we feel are “different”) deserve to be treated like human beings as well. All in all, it was a beautiful book.
Leave a Reply

