Adolescence · Life as I Know It · Random

Near Car Accident Memories

I’m not sure if I have mentioned in the past that I lived in New Hampshire for eight years, from 2000-2008. Due to my living in the Northern part of the state, which got a lot of snow, I have had some near-death experiences.

  • The first one involved our first year living there, and we went out as a family to look at Christmas lights (a tradition that we discontinued after this experience). We ended up switching lanes, and I happened to look out of the window just as a woman who had been behind us hit some unseen object and her truck flipped. As it turned out, she hit a dead moose on the side of the road and because she wasn’t wearing a seat belt (because in 2000, NH only required children under 12 to wear seat belts), she was half hanging out of the window. She was fine.
  • The second involved my dad, mom, and myself taking a winter trip to North Conway to look for Christmas gifts in 2004 (I only know the year because it was the year before I started working at T.J. Maxx). About twenty minutes from North Conway, there is a little (though deep) pond in the mountain range very close to the road. We hit a patch of black ice, and were spinning towards that lake. They say your life flashes before your eyes–all I thought was “I can’t swim. It’s winter, and I am fucked.” We managed to drift away from the pond to this platform on the right side of the street, which we tapped. My dad believes there was some higher power watching out for us, and I felt it was my grandpa. Side note: My dad was apologizing to my mom and I while we were spinning out of control. Also, another thirty seconds later, and an eighteen-wheeler would have clobbered us.
  • The last one, involved my dad and I taking a trip to Manchester to see Josh Groban in February 2005/6. We got just outside out Concord, when I decided we should go home. The entire trip was a nightmare. It was blizzard-like conditions, and the roads were slippery. We kept sliding across the road, and every time the Jeep went out of control, I would hear Notorious B.I.G.’s “Big Poppa” playing in my head. Before this moment, I had not knowingly heard Biggie (and that was in 10 Things I Hate About You). To this day, I don’t know why “Big Poppa” was the song I heard when slipping on wet snow in my dad’s Jeep.

The whole entire purpose of this post is due to the fact I heard “Big Poppa” while listening to a 90s Spotify radio playlist.

Leave a Reply

