Life as I Know It · Random · The Arts

Oldies Still Make Sense Decades Later

As I spend more and more time wondering what in Hades is happening to the United States, I am finding music of the 1960s/1970s has odd parallels to that of current events today.

One song in particular is that of The Temptations’ “Ball of Confusion.” Obviously, there are references to recreational drug use (mainly the use of Marijuana, I would assume) and how kids are “walking around with their heads in the sky,” and other things that are associated with the decade in which the song originated, but there are plenty of things that apply to the current period.

I refuse to get overly political, unless I feel so strongly about something, that I can’t just keep quiet. So far, my right to speak freely has yet to be repealed, but I figure it is only a matter of time before that happens.

Link included brings you to the lyrics of the song, but there is a player bar at the bottom of the site’s page if you want to listen to the song.

 

Leave a Reply

